These are chat archives for BSData/warhammer-age-of-sigmar

21st
Feb 2018
Rick Weyrauch
@rweyrauch
Feb 21 2018 05:12 UTC
I pushed the Order catalog with initial Stormcast support. Allies have not been implemented. Also missing are battleline constraints based on Allegiance and General.
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 08:17 UTC
@rweyrauch, raised #156 with some initial feedback.
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Feb 21 2018 15:18 UTC
This the right room?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:18 UTC
ys
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Feb 21 2018 15:18 UTC
:+1:
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:18 UTC
so, I'm adding "artefacts".
image.png
there are multiple groups inside the main "artefacts" group based on the model's keywords. So far, so good
you can only take one artefact on a model (so max 1 in Parent)
you can only take one artefact in your army (max 1 in Force).
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Feb 21 2018 15:20 UTC
With you so far
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:21 UTC
When I add the first artefact to a model, it appears to count as 2 and gives me a "<Force> has 1 too many artefacts (max 1)"!!
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Feb 21 2018 15:22 UTC
Is it shared somehow?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:23 UTC
the max 1 in Force (and child selections) isn't shared any more but it gives the same error.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 15:23 UTC
Re: Artefacts ... for each Battalion that you have selected in the roster that increases the number of artefacts by 1
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:23 UTC
haven't implemnted that yet
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Feb 21 2018 15:24 UTC
Where else is Max artefacts defined?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:25 UTC
nowhere
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Feb 21 2018 15:26 UTC
If you remove the Max 1 in Force does that fix it?
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 15:26 UTC
“You may choose one additional HEROto have an artefact for each warscroll battalion you include in your army. A HERO cannot have more than one artefact of Power.” P.116 GHB 2017
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:26 UTC
yes, because the constraint doesn't exist any moe
@OftKilted , I'd like to get it working with 1 artefact before I start adding extra ones.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 15:27 UTC
That’s fine. Just keep in mind that our solution needs to scale to multiple. :)
And the battalion inclusion is the key.
Wow .. that does jack TK and other Compendium forces that no longer have multiple battalion options
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:28 UTC
Yes, It works fine incrementing it based on the Battalion keyword. I did it and then removed it when I hit this issue
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 15:28 UTC
:worried:
Cool!
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:29 UTC
At present every time I add 1 artefact, it counts as 2 for some weird reason.
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Feb 21 2018 15:29 UTC
Is maybe there something hanging over from when you did the Battalion keyword logic?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:31 UTC
The screenshot is the current setup, unless it's hanging around in the XML somewhere...
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Feb 21 2018 15:31 UTC
When you eliminate the probable...
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 15:33 UTC
So ... if you flag each artefact as a “Category” of artefact ... and then do validation off the keyword ... with a repeating increase based on the number of Battalions
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:33 UTC
yeah, that's my next attempt. I just want to know why it's counting them twice...
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 15:38 UTC
I blame Khorne for cheating ... ;) Have you done the removal of the Max from the Artefacts of Power link and left the sub maxes?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:39 UTC
then you'd be able to choose multiple artefacts on the same model.
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Feb 21 2018 15:39 UTC
You could always increase the Max to 2 as well.
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:40 UTC
well, yes, i suppose I could just mask the problem ;)
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Feb 21 2018 15:40 UTC
Not exactly what I'd call elegant or correct (and certainly not a best practice) but if you did that it might help figure out where the phantom artefact is coming from? Maybe?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:42 UTC
it's not a phantom, it's just that each one counts as 2, if i add two to the Force, it says I have 3 too many for my max 1 in Force
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Feb 21 2018 15:43 UTC
wtaf
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:43 UTC
yeah, exactly
I think it must be a BS bug? Using max 1 in Roster works fine...
Using max 1 in Roster solves the problem. I'll report it as a bug.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 15:53 UTC
I blame the roster/force/parent issue.... Apparently parents join forces and multiply ... causing problems ... or something ... ;)
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 15:58 UTC
@OftKilted, this is literally the last thing i need to do in Khorne and the whole faction is finished and can be used for reference
(except for Allies)
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 15:59 UTC
@Mad-Spy Nice!
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 17:43 UTC
Legions of Nagash is in my queue next. The (current) Compendium death forces are done (Vampire Lords and Tomb Kings)
Debating on FEC first, as they’re the ones who are everyone’s allies ....
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:27 UTC
@/all, KHORNE and BRAYHERD are now finished in the Chaos cat, including battalions, battle traits, command traits and artefacts. I'll write up guidelines for all of it when I get chance but if you want to use it for reference, please do so.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:28 UTC
:+1: Good stuff.
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:29 UTC
I've also added a Artefact category to the GST, which you should add to all SE/SSEs for artefacts so that they validate correctly (i.e. one per roster + 1 per battalion)
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:29 UTC
How about a CREW category?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:30 UTC
Does anyone other than you need one?
I can't find an example in Chaos anywhere. It might have been deprecated except in Compendium units?
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 21 2018 22:31 UTC
the ironweld aresenal might?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:31 UTC
what book?
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 21 2018 22:32 UTC
order stuff?
been a while since I've played AoS
the combo empire/duardin one with all the cannons
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:32 UTC
They exist in Death, Destruction and Order.
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Feb 21 2018 22:33 UTC
I was going to say the screaming skull has crew
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:33 UTC
The forgeworld chaos dwarves might have some as well.
@alphalas TK is done btw
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Feb 21 2018 22:33 UTC
Sweet
Once seraphon are done I’ll be set lol
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:34 UTC
screaming skull is the reason there's a keyword. We're trying to work out if it needs to go up to the gst.
ok, Ironweld do use it, so it should go into the gst.
@OftKilted, you're probably the only one who has used it so far, so add it and change over your units.
tekton
@tekton
Feb 21 2018 22:36 UTC
destruction has it, so yes
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:36 UTC

Take a look, let me know if something isn’t validating correctly (poke holes in it) please :)

The screaming skull catapult has it, the Goblin Rock Lobber, and Doom Diver Catapult ... technically any of the Artillery

Chaos just doesn’t do lots of artillert
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:37 UTC
yeah, i guess that's probably it. there's only skull cannons and a couple of Skaven ones and they don't have separate crew
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:38 UTC
I’ll have to get the Death Artefacts into the cat, and then link those for TK
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:42 UTC
Take a look at my implementation. The easiest way seems to be a big bucket SSEG containing SSEGs for each set of Allegiance artefacts which are hidden based on Allegiance selection.
same for command traits.
it makes the validation simpler
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:45 UTC
And then don’t link them to named characters?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:45 UTC
I didn't even give named characters a "General" option unless it was needed for a role switch.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:46 UTC
Oh, any leader can be the general (unless they’re an ally)
And being the general is what flags the command traits
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:48 UTC
I think technically any model can be the general, it's just that only HEROES get Command Traits.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:48 UTC
I believe that changed ... it was a faq?
Lemme look for it. They swapped out the “make the unit the general” bit
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:49 UTC
makes sense, however, it still doesn't matter for named characters because they can't have command traits
unless they FAQed that somewhere.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:52 UTC
P.77 “In Pitched Battle, your General must be a Leader, and may not be an ally.” (Right column)
3rd paragraph
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:53 UTC
I didn't doubt you :)
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:55 UTC
Ahh, I was thinking 40k probably ... where warlord traits were defined if you chose named character X
And you’re absolutely correct. P117 under named characters
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:55 UTC
yeah, they didn't do that (yet) in AoS, you just don't get one.
which is a bit rubbish
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:57 UTC
It’s to encourage folks to make their own heroes and stories.
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 22:57 UTC
right...
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Feb 21 2018 22:58 UTC
(And Nagash with the ring of immortality would be completely wrong...)
;) It’s probably to avoid painful balance issues.
Though for stuff like the MLoK and Khul ....
They used to be identical
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 21 2018 23:07 UTC
looks like you don't need to worry about restricting command traits or artefacts on categories though like me and @rweyrauch.
Rick Weyrauch
@rweyrauch
Feb 21 2018 23:47 UTC
Excellent