Where communities thrive


  • Join over 1.5M+ people
  • Join over 100K+ communities
  • Free without limits
  • Create your own community
People
Repo info
Activity
  • Oct 20 13:34
    nottsknight closed #768
  • Oct 19 20:55

    cartag on cartag-1

    (compare)

  • Oct 19 20:54

    cartag on cartag

    Corrected Spell types (compare)

  • Oct 19 20:54
    cartag closed #1052
  • Oct 19 20:54
    cartag commented #1052
  • Oct 19 20:53
    cartag assigned #1052
  • Oct 19 20:50

    cartag on cartag

    Corrected Arkanaut Company weap… (compare)

  • Oct 19 20:50
    cartag closed #1057
  • Oct 19 20:50
    cartag commented #1057
  • Oct 19 20:50
    cartag assigned #1057
  • Oct 19 20:47
    cartag commented #1042
  • Oct 19 20:46

    cartag on cartag

    Corrected Shamen Now only have… (compare)

  • Oct 19 20:45
    cartag closed #1050
  • Oct 19 20:45
    cartag commented #1050
  • Oct 19 20:45
    cartag unassigned #1050
  • Oct 19 20:45
    cartag assigned #1050
  • Oct 19 19:42

    cartag on cartag

    Finished Host of Syll'esske (compare)

  • Oct 19 04:45
    cartag closed #1070
  • Oct 19 04:45
    cartag assigned #1070
  • Oct 19 04:45
    cartag edited #1070
OftKilted
@OftKilted
“An army can have a specific allegiance if all the starting units and warscroll battalions in the army have the keyword for that allegiance, including any units that you assign a keyword to during set-up”
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
in their example, the SCE units in the Sylvaneth battalion get the Battalion benefits, but not the Allegiance ones.
At least, that's how I read it?
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Yes, but the SCE are considered to have Sylvaneth allegiance
Indirectly
Or at least the Sylvaneth keyword
So .. if a Warscroll says “DEATH” at the top. The unit has the Death Allegiance.
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
but read the last paragraph, if you select the SYLVANETH Allegiance, they don't get the benefit, because they don't actually have the keyword.
I think what they're trying to say is that they aren't Allies (and don't count towards that limit).
OftKilted
@OftKilted
So, if I have a Grand Host of Nagash Army ... and choose a Warscroll with “DEATH” at the top ... instead of the one with “Grand Host of Nagash” that the Army has to have Death Allegiance?
Not grand host of Nagash Allegiance?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Yes, because the warscroll isn't valid for a "Grand Host of Nagash" army
OftKilted
@OftKilted
.... wow ... Death has a seriously crappy number of Warscroll battalions
That’s almost a faq question...
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
having said that, Azyr says that a "Grand Host of Nagash" allegiance army can have all of the battalions from the new book! So I have no idea how it's supposed to work.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
... yeah ...
OftKilted
@OftKilted
From the faq Q: Can the warscroll battalions for speci c Legions be taken outside of the Legion named on their warscrolls?
A: The First Cohort can only be taken as part of the Grand Host of Nagash (because the other Legions cannot include Nagash). Any other battalions for speci c Legions can be included as part of a different Legion as long as that Legion also includes the Mortarch that must lead it. For example, to include the Court of Nulahmia in a Legion of Sacrament army, the army would also have to include Arkhan the Black (because
if the Legion of the Sacrament has any Mortarchs, one must be Arkhan).
So ... by implication I can take a “DEATH” Warscroll Battalion in an Army That has a specific allegiance?
Am I reading this right?
OftKilted
@OftKilted
The wording pre-LoN in the Warscroll section for DoT said “... A battalion can still be part of any allegiance that all its units have on their warscrolls.”
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
where's that from?
OftKilted
@OftKilted
The Disciples of Tzeentch battletome.
p.95 in the warscroll Battalion section.
Can a Legion of Blood army take “The first cohort” battalion in Azyr?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
yes
OftKilted
@OftKilted
... okay well that doesn’t match the faq.
So, as long as the units in the Warscroll Battalion can be taken in that Allegiance ... or the Allegiance is the same the Warscroll Battalion is good?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
nope, but Azyr might be wrong. It also gives me the option to include a Daemon Cohort of Nurgle in a Khorne army, so I'm not convinced it's entirely accurate...
OftKilted
@OftKilted
They’re allies... so not an issue perhaps?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
:shrug:
except they're not really because a Daemon Cohort of Nurgle is a "Daemons of Chaos" compendium battalion.
and as such has been superseded by the Maggotkin book, and is not even in GHB2017
OftKilted
@OftKilted
“Go GW!”
Okay. So ... based on the faq I’m going to allow the Battalion warscrolls in armies where the units in the battalion have keywords that would be allowed.
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
yes, i think that's the right choice. So in Chaos, KHORNE BLOODBOUND warscrolls are allowed in KHORNE and CHAOS allegiance armies.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
So in a Soulblight Army, I could use Court of Nulhamina ... as all the units have SOULBLIGHT .. but not Nightfall Pack as they don’t all have SOULBLIGHT... and not Deathmarch
As they all are Bonerattle.
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
According to Azyr, you can't take any Battalions as standard, but you can take Deathrattle Horde or Legion of Death as Allies.
in a Soulblight army
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Interesting.
Soulblight has Bonerattle as an Ally ... and at least one of those is a Bonerattle Warscroll Battalion
OftKilted
@OftKilted
And they dealt with the question on p. 60 - “When you are choosing your army, you may decide it is taken from one of the Legions of Nagash. If you do, choose one of the following faction keywords. All units and warscroll battalions in your army selected from this battletome gain that keyword.
• GRAND HOST OF NAGASH
• LEGION OF SACRAMENT
• LEGION OF BLOOD
• LEGION OF NIGHT”
At least in part.... so if you choose a Legion it gets the Legion keyword
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
ah, well, that makes a difference. We can't support it, but at least it makes sense.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Technically I could wrangle it ...
But I don’t know that we need to. As long as we’re handling them the way that we are.
So, Nighthaunt and Soulblight Allegiance don’t get the benefit ... but everyone else does... if you choose a Legion
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
I mean we can't support adding the Keywords to the units, well, not without a significant amount of work.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
We do it with the “General” category
It just requires a switch, and then a whole bunch of cut and paste ...