These are chat archives for BSData/wh40k

21st
Mar 2016
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 07:53
@Everyone, especially @amis92 .... I've uploaded the done Eldar Mymeara + Craftworlds catalog into my private fork. Please download it and test it out. https://github.com/efalsken/wh40k/tree/NewEldar
I still need to add Valedor formations and Fighter Ace.
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 16:34
Time to inundate them.
mystycalchemy
@mystycalchemy
Mar 21 2016 16:42
@efalsken found a few more bugs after the latest push. Thanks again for the rewrite on the cat :D
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 16:46
I tried to combine the already asked questions into a google doc. In the 5 minutes it took to prune the "Likes" from my copy/paste, 60 more questions showed up :(
Ivan Milanov
@SuperPranx
Mar 21 2016 16:47
Added some 6-7 questions about Space Wolves :)
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 16:47
1 per person.
Might want to change yours to the one you want answered most :smile:
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 16:48
@mystycalchemy already fixed and pushed again
darn, I posted 2 already..... one about MC with the IC rule (it's in Mymeara and FSE), the other about non-Psychic-Powers with a "bubble" range effect while embarked on a Transport.
cartag
@cartag
Mar 21 2016 17:21
My addition: If a Chaos Lord in a KDK army is carrying Goredrinker, then changes to a DP using Dark Apotheosis, does the Daemon Prince then retain the "leveled up" Goredrinker, or is it reset to 0?
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 17:21
I asked for clarification on the "Single Model" vs "Single Unit" printed in formations. If nobody has their own question to ask, a clarification on the Apothecary would be nice too. Namely: Can it take upgrades afforded to Veterans in a Command Squad. Or to generalize the question further. Is a model that has been upgraded to a model allowed to take upgrades from the "Base" model
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Mar 21 2016 17:36
@cartag I believe that the KDK lord shouldn't be getting the grenades when they update to terminator armor.
(Not that has anything to do with a FAQ question)
Ohh... Someone could put the 1 model vs 1 unit question for formations
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 17:37
Did.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Mar 21 2016 17:38
Youre the best!
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 17:38
:) I spent a good 30m reading through every damn question there
to make sure nobody else did
So many instances of Space Wolves/BA Dreads getting +2A
quite a few "Do GMC shoot all weapons or just 2"
I really hope it's all ... My Stompsurge list won't be nearly as fun for me.
I mean ... It's really not fun for anyone who faces it, but it is for me. (Buffmander, 7 Marker Drones, Riptide Wing, 2 5-man Fire Warriors, and a unit of 2 Stormsurges)
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Mar 21 2016 17:39
So has anyone seen where or if super heavy walkers can overwatch?
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 17:40
yep, that's in there.
Multiple Weapons in overwatch is in there as well (via Multi Tracker or GMC/MC)
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Mar 21 2016 17:41
The issue is "making it fun for everyone." Not just the TFG
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 17:41
Haha true. I don't think I've ever used it in a casual match.
That's an event-only list when it's play to win.
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Mar 21 2016 17:42
We had a guy in AoS that was running 6 Catdragons....
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 17:42
I don't play AOS but I assume those are GMC-equivalent?
OftKilted
@OftKilted
Mar 21 2016 17:43
they can teleport 1st turn to within 3" and get a first turn charge (you can only get within 3 if you've charged)
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 17:43

I have posed the Vehicles Snap Shot Ordnance question. There are contradictory passages between the Weapons and Vehicles sections.

ORDNANCE WEAPONS
Ordnance weapons are the big guns of the battlefield – cannons so vast they normally have to be mounted on tanks and artillery.
When shooting, a model with an Ordnance weapon fires the number of times indicated in its profile after its type. A non-vehicle model carrying an Ordnance weapon cannot fire it in the Shooting phase if he moved in the preceding Movement phase. Ordnance weapons cannot fire Snap Shots. Furthermore, if a non-vehicle model fires an Ordnance weapon, then the massive recoil from the Ordnance weapon means that the model cannot fire other weapons that phase, nor will it be able to charge in the ensuing Assault phase.

Vehicles & Ordnance Weapons
Unlike other units, vehicles can move and fire with Ordnance weapons. However, a vehicle that fires an Ordnance weapon can only make Snap Shots with its other weapons that turn. A vehicle that moved at Cruising Speed can still Snap Shoot Ordnance, but of course, cannot fire any Ordnance weapon that cannot be fired as Snap Shots

Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 17:44
@OftKilted Oh damn, that's nuts
... Well that's just dumb @capitaladot
You can't fire ordinance snapshots ... but if you could we gave you a rule so you can ...
Glad you asked that one :)
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 17:47

@Kohato yeah... and it is a point of contention among Eldar players on Facebook.
My reading is that you can if the Weapon type (Blast or Template) isn't already prevented from firing Snapshots.

This is relevant to the Helstrike Missile on Valkyries (and some FW Flyers), as well as the Eldar Lynx (with its crazy "Lumbering Aerial Combatant" rule).

OftKilted
@OftKilted
Mar 21 2016 17:49
If you could fire ordnance as snapshots that would help with my Defiler... (Whistles innocently) i.e. No ballistic skill ....
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 18:40
I think one of the most frequently asked questions in the Tau group is "why would anyone ever bring a codex flyer"
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 18:42
Haha
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 18:42
and I think one of the best things to rebalance SM would be for Centurions to not benefit from Chapter Tactics. CT are really cool and they add fluff, but Centurions abuse them so badly.
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 18:42
I saw quite a few "Want a question? Ok - when is CSM getting a codex"
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 18:42
fair
did anyone ask if HH 30k was all 40k-legally playable?
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 18:43
Ultrasmurf centurions with grav
that shit is so nasty
I didn't see that asked, but it's been an hour~
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 18:44
especially in Drop Pods that don't have to worry about risking to drop in point-blank
the Drop-Pod safe-deep-strike is completely over-abused out here where everyone else has to worry about how close they can deep-strike.
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 18:44
I would check the new questions for you Eric, but there's been 400 new comments since I last looked
so ... no.
:p
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 18:45
I've already got three submitted
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 18:45
Oh god yes it is. Drop pods just point and drop. Drop on a rock? Who the hell cares, we'll just nudge it over a bit.
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 18:45
hey, if you need something to do, can you help check the new Craftworlds-2?
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 18:46
sure, what are you looking for, just errors?
I don't do Eldar so I wouldn't know if a rule/formation was right.
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 18:46
@efalsken: I must be missing something; where are the Lynx, Scorpion, and Cobra Formations?
cartag
@cartag
Mar 21 2016 18:49
Out of 700 comments I've seen at least 5 asking if the Bloodthirster you get from Blood Tithe enters swooping or gliding
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 18:51
the Scorpion and Cobra formation is called...... Hammer of Vaul
Its in there as a Formation and as a Support (not an Aux)
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 18:51
@cartag Yea ... there's alot of duplicates, but with 600 comments it's not easy to see if your question was asked yet.
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 18:52
the Lynx formation is the Skyhunter Squadron. Also a Support choice and a Formation.
cartag
@cartag
Mar 21 2016 18:52
Ctrl+F and search for a keyword. Not difficult :P
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 18:52
@efalsken oh, I see; where should the Support section appear? I don't see it with your latest file on the desktop app.
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 18:53
make sure you're looking at Craftworlds 2
(v1)
in an E Craftworld Warhost detachment type.
or a Formation Detachment
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 18:54
All indications are that I am, but I am wondering if I am looking at the old copy (since you haven't incremented versions and BScribe doesn't notice new versions without this, even when manually imported).
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 18:54
it will if you Git Pull into your BSData folder.
oh, i know
you only copied the .cat file. You also need the game system file.
Support is a new Category, unfortunately. So required update to the Game System file.
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 18:55
@efalsken Thanks, that makes sense.
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 19:22
@efalsken If a Skyreaver Raiding Echelon is chosen as Support, should Guardian Defenders within it benefit from the Pale Host's Forgotten Remnants?
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 19:23
one of the forgoten remnants gives all wraithblades crusader, even those not part of the Pale Court.
which forgotten remnant are you asking about?
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 19:23
@efalsken In that case, you might like to look at that Skyreaver Raiding Echelon for Disciples of Vaul.
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 19:24
the full text is present. But note that the Pale Court is a Core Choice and does not include any Aux or Support formation.
The Desciples of Vaul should only affect Guardians taken as part of the Pale Court. If you have Guardians from any other formation, they should not get the reduced model-count-per-heavy-weapon.
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 19:25
@efalsken so, you're saying that Forgotten Remnants have to be specifically global to impact Aux and Support Formations taken with them, such as the Wraithblades thing you mentioned?
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 19:26
correct. It's clear in the wording for the Desciples of Vaul
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 19:26
@efalsken well and good; I've been too lazy yet to dig out my book and am just clicking around for things that raise curiosity.
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 19:26
"Pale Court Battlehost" is not the same as "Craftworld Warhost"
so references to "Battlehost" affect only the Pale Courts. References to "Warhost" affect the entire detachment.
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 19:27
@efalsken huh; I can't help but wonder if that was intentional or just sloppy.
@efalsken that is, on Talima et al.
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 19:27
of course.
such similar terms can only be confusing.
they should have used the full detachment name or formation name.
a lot of the new formations have the same problem with referencing multiple units of hornets or 3-6 individual hornets, War Walkers, etc.
I didn't find an easy way to limit repetitions of the Pale Courts to the same Forgotten Remnants. Once you take a Pale Courts, any additional Core choices must be Pale Courts, and those must have the same Forgotten Remnants. I managed to limit it to Pale-Courts-Only, but I couldn't find a way to limit all Pale Courts to the same two Remnants.
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 19:32
@efalsken maybe occlude the "add" option, and leave the user to duplicate the existing Pale Court? Seems cludgy, but most of the attempts to implement complex restrictions across detachments are.
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 19:33
duplicate Unit isn't possible on mobile?
and this is "within the detachment". separate Warhost detachments can have different Pale Courts
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 19:33
@efalsken Alternatively, move the Forgotten Remnants up to "No Category"?
@efalsken possible on Android with hold-touch.
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 19:34
BS bug: can't limit choices or hide root-level options based on force type.
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 19:34
@efalsken a limitation I sadly know well; see HH RoWs causing FoC polymorphism.
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 19:34
for now, i left some verbiage in the Entry Group name.
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 19:35
@efalsken makes sense.
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 19:35
and the rule text is included in the output.
There's one of them that requires the user to select units from Corsairs or Harlequins ... So I left a note to "battlescribe users" to add them with an unbound detachment.
Ivan Milanov
@SuperPranx
Mar 21 2016 21:32
Doubling an entry is possible in iPhone
Just hold your finger on the entry a while longer . A context menu appears that lets you do stuff.
@efalsken ^
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 21 2016 21:34
Dupliate Force works too if you want to make a slight tweak to a list but want to keep the original.
It's really really nice when changing gobs of options right before playtime.
Austin C.
@capitaladot
Mar 21 2016 22:23
I almost always dupe on both Desktop and Android.
Eric Falsken
@efalsken
Mar 21 2016 22:25
ah. I've almost never used any of the "Duplicate" options.