These are chat archives for BSData/wh40k

30th
Jul 2016
cartag
@cartag
Jul 30 2016 17:08
Ok, I need a collaborative decision on something. I'm going through IA:Vraks and implementing The Purge detachment. In it, it states any model equipped with a Flamer or Heavy Flamer may upgrade it to a Chemical Flamer for no cost.
Would that also affect Combi-Flamers?
BRB states "A model armed with a combi-weapon can choose to f ire either the main boltgun, or the secondary weapon." That would mean it's equipped with both a Boltgun and a one use Flamer/Melta/Plasma.
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Jul 30 2016 17:54
I would say no. A combi flamed is a separate entry entirely
It is a single weapon the comprises two profiles that you can choose between
cartag
@cartag
Jul 30 2016 17:55
But as far as the rules are concerned, it's a secondary, one use Flamer weapon
Not trying to make it one way or another, just more trying to brainstorm it out
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Jul 30 2016 17:57
Yea. I get it
That's a good question.
If you can. You'd only be able to turn the flames part Into chemical
cartag
@cartag
Jul 30 2016 17:59
Agreed, there is no Chemical Bolter profile anyway, just Chem Flamer and Chem Rockets
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Jul 30 2016 17:59
Since the rule doesn't let you replace a combi weapon, just a flamer
cartag
@cartag
Jul 30 2016 18:00
RAW: Any friendly unit in the army equipped with flamers or heavy flamers may be upgraded to be equipped with chemical flamers for free, and any model equipped with a missile launcher may take chemical rockets as a free upgrade.
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Jul 30 2016 18:00
Yea that's hard to say. Rai I'm pretty sure no.
Raw. Either way. I could argue no because it's not a flamer. It's another weapon with a flamer profile.
I could argue you could because combi doesn't say profile. It says weapon
cartag
@cartag
Jul 30 2016 18:01
Casing in the above is as written also. It doesn't say Flamer or Heavy Flamer, it says flamer or heavy flamer
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Jul 30 2016 18:02
Eh. That's a stretch. The profiles are capitalized too aren't they?
cartag
@cartag
Jul 30 2016 18:02
Yes, they are
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Jul 30 2016 18:02
So if we use that interpretation nothing could be replaced
cartag
@cartag
Jul 30 2016 18:03
doesn't help that Flamer (CW) and Flamer (non-CW) are both just named "Flamer" in BRB
one is just marked as One Use Only
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Jul 30 2016 18:03
Yea. Combi is just a weapon with two profiles + one use only
Given the entire ambiguity I'd say yes and see if we get issues/complaints
Easy enough to remove if you make it a shared entry link
cartag
@cartag
Jul 30 2016 18:12
I have the Combi-Weapons all set up in a shared group, I can get rid of it really easily
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Jul 30 2016 18:16
Yea. I'd say include at least for now then.