OK, I'm going to an official event and I have to submit my list. I haven't bought a Codex, so I use index costs. My opponent uses the same army, but bought a Codex. They now get a cheaper army than me because they spent the money?
So all I put to him was to ask the rules writers to confirm, since they have said its fine to buy the CSM book and use the new spells, can they confirm in a non-ambiguous way whether you can use the data sheet or not
isn't it assumed your always useing the latest, if you only own the index thats your problem not anyone elses, unless you make a friendly decision, i mean i could go back and play 2nd ed, but i'm not gonna use 2nd ed codex in 8th am i
I just wanted the rules writers to know this debate was going on (I know not so much in here cos you have agreed to how you do it, but it IS going on in the real world with a lot of people assuming they CAN use the new sheet) - I want a solid Yes or No from GW about it and then I can stop thinking about it
We actually do have a game set that's going to be bridging that! Our December Campaign for my local group is going to be on a planet that jumped out of the warp due to the chasm that got opened and it was engulfed during a battle at the start of the Heresy...so that way people can use "reasonable rules" for their 30k items fighting along side their 40k items. But the planet is on a timer and will be sucked 5 weeks after planetfall...very sad.
while I like the direction of those 8th ed rules for 30k they still need work
specifically the RG stuff the guys making it didn't seem to understand the purpose of the units, and the Lord of War rule they put on primarchs makes sense for some of them but for others it is an absolutely terrible peice of rules writing
the same issue with mor deythan follow on to some other units, where its painfully clear that the guys doing the translation have either never faced them or tried to understand what the unit does in practice vs theory for 7th