These are chat archives for BSData/wh40k
Yes but Guard didn’t have the priest previously; so it’s not that simple.
the problem with FB posts is you can ask the same question a week apart and get two entirely different answers
Yeah, and they already stated that most recent answer is the correct one.
what they failed to address on P6 is where a datasheet is duplicated in a codex but not the same faction as the index
how is that an issue ???
I realize that a lot of people are confused due to the sudden breaking of "one army = one codex, even if the same units appears twice in different codex, it's two different units" to the giant "Use keywords for everything" that befit much more a digital, online gaming system than the good old "your codex is enough to play your army" we all have been using for years.
If you are playing casual open play, then your codex and the free online basic rules is enough to play. And this is what most "casual" players will have.
But for matched play, for the asperger nerds that actually lawyer about rules, it is now a giant clusterfuck of codex, index and faqs, indicating that GW should clearly short their shit out and publish some kind of official centralized, up to date corpus of rules in a digital format that take precendence over codex themselves. However, how to use them is now pretty clear since the latest FAQ, and Battlescribe should reflect that.
you can already take a priest as you want
You can't, and the point value for the Adeptus Ministorum catalog are illegal.
but then your detachment would cease to be an AdMech detachment due to using a datasheet with the wrong and you'd lose a bunch of rules.
Your CULT MECHANICUS detachement is illegal only if a unit is missing the CULT MECHANICUS keyword.
Let's do some RAW, and you'll notice there is no issue whatesover either.
Let's suppose that for the example, Enginseer could use some exclusive index options, like upgrade their pistol to a bolt pistol, costed 0 points in the index wargear.
DOES YOUR MODEL HAVE A DATASHEET IN A CODEX?
YES => two codex actually.
ARE THERE WARGEAR OPTIONS FOR YOUR MODEL THAT ONLY APPEAR IN THE INDEX VERSION OF ITS DATASHEET?
YES => Said bolt pistol, only in the index
USE THE CODEX VERSION OF YOUR MODEL’S DATASHEET, BUT YOU CAN CHOOSE TO USE THE INDEX VERSION FOR ITS WARGEAR OPTIONS (NOTE THAT IF THE WARGEAR HAS RULES IN THE CODEX, THESE REPLACE THE INDEX RULES)
You can field two versions of your Enginseer :
-The AM version without CANTICLES OF THE OMNISSIAH. The bolt pistol option is available (from the index) but cost 1pts (AM prices).
-The AdMec version with CANTICLES OF THE OMNISSIAH. The bolt pistol option is also available. As AdMech codex has no price for it, index prices are used (0pts).
@Nokhal I’m not changing the sisters one, period
Not touching it till it’s addressed in a faq.
@Nokhal "doing the job you are supposed to do but won't"
Well then. Pack it up boys. Sounds like we're on strike from a job that pays a non-zero sum!