These are chat archives for BSData/wh40k

22nd
Jan 2018
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Jan 22 2018 10:34 UTC
Guys, can someone take care of AdMech and DA for a week or two?
I'm having a appointment with my therapist and my still-gf, but I expect that to change soon-ish. I suspect I won't have the mental energy to fix bugs for a while, so I think I'll have to pull a Cartag and sign off for a little time... I'm sorry to leave you hanging like that, even for a short while :/
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Jan 22 2018 10:36 UTC
We got you @Thairne
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Jan 22 2018 10:40 UTC
well maybe, maybe a miracle happens and she suddenly starts to develop feelings OR she finally sees reason and comprehends that this relationship aint working out. In that case, all is well and the sabbatical won't be necessary. Hah.
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 10:48 UTC
that sounds really rough, man. take all the time you need; we'll be here whenever you're ready
Simon Porter
@FarseerVeraenthis
Jan 22 2018 10:51 UTC
Yeah, don't worry about it, we've got it all under control. Take it easy and look after yourself :+1:
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 10:51 UTC
Take care, buddy. We'll keep on top of things until you get back.
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Jan 22 2018 10:52 UTC
I swear, if I come back and my cats are ruined I'll google/hack your IRL adresses and send glitterbombs to y'all! :P
Simon Porter
@FarseerVeraenthis
Jan 22 2018 10:53 UTC
I'm sure if that would be bad, or awesome... But we'll just be careful and try not to completely rewrite them while you're away...
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 10:58 UTC
:mailbox_with_mail: :bomb: :tada:
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Jan 22 2018 11:15 UTC
I’d personally prefer a bag of gummy dicks lol
Yeah it’s a bag of dicks but I can eat it and it’s not hobby herpes
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 11:18 UTC
:D
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 11:41 UTC
Can someone look at #2296 and check that this guy is wrong.
@acebaur, if he's around.
CloverFox
@CloverFox
Jan 22 2018 11:48 UTC
eagh, another order of operations problem, I don't think we have a clear answer on this but i agree with your conclusion, replacements should only happen once
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 12:02 UTC
yeah, it's quite hazy. it basically comes down to whether or not you can replace weapons you've taken from another option
which i believe is the case, otherwise why would they have errata'd it?
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Jan 22 2018 12:13 UTC
Agreed. Also Heavy Weapons are 2h. No room for a storm shield.
Alex Baur
@acebaur
Jan 22 2018 12:29 UTC
Without having looked at the FAQ or CA yet I'd say no you can't have a ss and a heavy
There is no order of operations in 40k
2h hasn't been a thing in a long time time though
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 12:32 UTC
I'm pretty sure I saw something somewhere that said you can't replace items twice.
Simon Porter
@FarseerVeraenthis
Jan 22 2018 12:48 UTC
We need to check everything carefully, because it is something that was possible in 7th, for Deathwatch because #awesomemarines, and I did read somewhere someone saying after the FAQ that HW & SS was back on the menu but who knows..
Price Van-Saint
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
Jan 22 2018 12:50 UTC
@ilaunchbury you were correct in the first part of your answer AFAIK, he trades in a bolter for TH/SS no longer has a bolter to trade in for heavy weapon.
Alex Baur
@acebaur
Jan 22 2018 12:53 UTC
After looking at the FAQ I don't think it's possible. Why else errata it then except to make sure that doesn't happen since a boltgun is an option on the second list. The SS is a weapon in my opinion by virtue of being on that list.
Price Van-Saint
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
Jan 22 2018 12:56 UTC
oh I see what he's trying to get at ... replace bolter with TH/SS ... then replace TH with heavy weapon while retaining the SS "cause it's not a weapon" .... yeah ... GTFO
Simon Porter
@FarseerVeraenthis
Jan 22 2018 12:56 UTC
Can someone please link me the latest faq
Page 173 – Deathwatch Kill Team, Wargear Options
Change the second bullet point to read:
‘• Up to 4 Deathwatch Veterans may each replace all of
their weapons with frag grenades, krak grenades and
an item from the Deathwatch Heavy Weapons list.
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 12:59 UTC
what qualifies it as a weapon?
Price Van-Saint
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
Jan 22 2018 12:59 UTC
Me smacking that dude round the head with a heavy slab of powered adamantium
everything's a weapon
Alex Baur
@acebaur
Jan 22 2018 13:00 UTC
its on a list made up entirely of other weapons?
also where does it say it's not a weapon?
to give it an exception to that rule
Price Van-Saint
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
Jan 22 2018 13:01 UTC
also the opening paragraph of that whole box :
DEATHWATCH WARGEAR
The Deathwatch favour different weapons to other Space
Marine Chapters.
says weapons right there
Second paragraph in same box
WARGEAR
The profiles for the weapons in these
lists can be found in the appendix
Alex Baur
@acebaur
Jan 22 2018 13:03 UTC
if you were meant to be able to take a SS and a heavy it would read more like the veteran entries from C:SM
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 13:05 UTC
yeah, i agree that it's probably not intended. i'm just interested to hear your reasoning
Simon Porter
@FarseerVeraenthis
Jan 22 2018 13:05 UTC
You're all missing the point, how did he get a storm shield in the first place? By trading his bolter... you can't trade twice, so you can't do it...
Price Van-Saint
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
Jan 22 2018 13:05 UTC
@FarseerVeraenthis unfortunately the FAQ changes the line from replace bolter to Replace ALL weapons"
so he replaces bolter for weapon + SS
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 13:06 UTC
i think he means you cant trade X for Y then Y for Z
Price Van-Saint
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
Jan 22 2018 13:06 UTC
then "replaces all weapons"
Simon Porter
@FarseerVeraenthis
Jan 22 2018 13:06 UTC
Yeah, but, you can't trade twice...
Price Van-Saint
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
Jan 22 2018 13:06 UTC
why? .. where? .. (Devils advocate)
Alex Baur
@acebaur
Jan 22 2018 13:06 UTC
where does it say you can?
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
if the rules don't give you permission to do something you can't
Price Van-Saint
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
Jan 22 2018 13:07 UTC
I think a precedent is set in space marines where you can upgrade a marine to a sergeant and then to a super sergeant or summat .. not off top of my head
Alex Baur
@acebaur
Jan 22 2018 13:07 UTC
omission is not permission
not anymore
Amadeusz Sadowski
@amis92
Jan 22 2018 13:08 UTC
How is section about Wargear in Datasheets defined (I'm talking about description of the section in BRB)
Alex Baur
@acebaur
Jan 22 2018 13:08 UTC
there are no special sgt upgrades
every squad (except crusaders) just has a Veteran Sgt
@amis92 it doesn't cover that at all
it says nothing about options for a model
Price Van-Saint
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
Jan 22 2018 13:10 UTC
then in those cases, I refer to my earlier point in that he is wrong , wrong wrong and should be educated about the head with a heavy lump of adamantium
I happen to have my D&D books in my car today ... if one wants to borrow a DMG for said purpose
Amadeusz Sadowski
@amis92
Jan 22 2018 13:12 UTC
;D
Price Van-Saint
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
Jan 22 2018 13:14 UTC
if in doubt - look to the Codex Brothers !
Codex Astartes states :
TERMINATOR
MELEE WEAPONS
Lightning claw
Power fist
Storm shield
Thunder hammer
HIT HIM HARDER !
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 13:15 UTC
and what does the codex name that manoeuvre?
Price Van-Saint
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
Jan 22 2018 13:17 UTC
The Helbrecht Subterfuge
CloverFox
@CloverFox
Jan 22 2018 13:17 UTC
is is the same in index deathwatch tho?
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 13:18 UTC
nah, its just under a big heading of "DEATHWATCH EQUIPMENT"
Price Van-Saint
@sk_Father_Price_twitter
Jan 22 2018 13:30 UTC
Apropos of nothing, I took my Tyranid start collecting boxes out for a spin versus Chaos Marines yesterday in a sea of grey genestealers and broodlords vs, 1000 pts of cultists, raptors, Kharn and berzerkers and a Defiler ... ended turn 5 with one stealer facing down a defiler with 9 wounds left ..
I am so happy with them ... glad I got em
at least until March when my 'Crons get a codex to play with
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 14:01 UTC
@acebaur, as you're around, can you add me onto the list for the 1KSons Codex? If you PM me the details, I'll sort out a transfer for you.
Alex Baur
@acebaur
Jan 22 2018 14:11 UTC
Sure thing,
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 14:35 UTC
i'll be pre-ordering the TS dex so if I get it early like I did the Daemons, I'll stick some photos up.
altho If they do a nice limited edition with "gubbins" I'll be getting that which will delay it
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Jan 22 2018 15:16 UTC
Daemons DG CSM faq up
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 15:18 UTC
Um
Where?
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:19 UTC
dont see anything unexpected in the daemons one
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:19 UTC
restricted strats to faction daemons and some tweaks
CSM fixed the 2 units that wrongly had daemon as a faction keyword
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 15:21 UTC
huh.png
I'm not seeing it
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 15:22 UTC
PERFECT! THANK YOU!!!
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 15:23 UTC
probably just a caching issue :P
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Jan 22 2018 15:26 UTC
@skonk were you the one arguing DG nurgle daemons needed to be updated?
I think this FAQ puts that to bed since CSM updated horrors and nothing else
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:28 UTC
at no point does anyone EVER need to use the daemons data sheets in those books
so its all fucking moot
Page 99 – Spoilpox Scrivener, Abilities, Keep Counting!
Meet your Quota!
Change the second sentence to read:
‘In addition, if you make a hit roll of 7+ for a
Plaguebearer unit within 6" of one or more friendly
models with this ability, you can immediately make
one additional attack at the same target with the same
weapon (these bonus attacks cannot themselves generate
any further attacks).’
how does this differ from the codex?
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Jan 22 2018 15:29 UTC
Keyword change?
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:29 UTC
all caps and bold in both
image.png
it must be different an im just missing what
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Jan 22 2018 15:31 UTC
For A PB unit
not “For PB unitS"
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:32 UTC
ignore sentence 1
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 15:32 UTC
yeah, they added "unit" after PLAGUEBEARER
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:32 UTC
that sentence isnt changed, just the second one
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 15:33 UTC
so it affects the whole unit, not just the models in range
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:33 UTC
ah yeh
i assume the reason they FAQ horrors is to prevent people choosing to use the old... and much better data sheet
since the change to them was a nerf
the other daemons sheet the player has full choice to use them or ignore them and simply take them from the daemons book
sheets^
seems they give not a shit about updated anything where the newer sheet was buffed and only remove the ability to use the older version of nerfed ones
but as i said, there is no circumstance where a player has to use the daemons data sheets from the CSM or DG books
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 15:36 UTC
the ones in C:CSM dont have the daemon faction, so you'd lose all your faction bonuses
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:36 UTC
they're for summoming
so it wouldnt matter
but when you summon you can just summon them from the daemons codex anyway
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 15:36 UTC
ah yeah, summoning is a good point
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:38 UTC
i'll revise what i said above to add... that that assumes you actually own the daemons codex :)
if you dont then you would have to use the shite old data sheets
altho they have said you have to use the most recently published points didnt they?
so wouldn't the points from the daemons book be the "correct" ones regardless?
since its a new book
newer^
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 15:40 UTC
NOOOOOOOO!!
don't start the "rules from a different codex trump rules in the Codex I'm using" argument
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Jan 22 2018 15:40 UTC
Depends on if GW is saying codexes overwrite codexes or not
I hope not
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 15:40 UTC
points certainly do. not sure about anything else
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:41 UTC
its not about using the rules
pretty sure they have previously stated that you use the most recent points tho
CloverFox
@CloverFox
Jan 22 2018 15:46 UTC
does that kill the deepstriking maggy and morty?
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:46 UTC
it does
neither of which would have been any issue anyway
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 15:47 UTC
Can anyone see a difference between the FAQed change to Daemonic Ritual and the sentence in the Codex?
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:47 UTC
deep striking a brass scorpion would have been tho
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 15:47 UTC
because I'm struggling to find it.
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:48 UTC
was the reinforcements thing already in?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 15:48 UTC
yes
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:49 UTC
looks the same to me
is there like a minor spelling mistake or something maybe
"is" ?
an more than vs and is more than
yup, they added is
i dont see how that changes the meaning tho
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 15:52 UTC
ah, they removed "is"
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:52 UTC
yeh sorry was just about to correct myself
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 15:52 UTC
yeah, i think its a grammatical fix, rather than a rule change
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:55 UTC
interesting that the DG update didn't touch on the last bit of moaning people do about poxwalkers
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 15:57 UTC
what moaning is that?
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 15:58 UTC
when a poxwalker kills something in combat, or when anything dies (other than a pox walker) within 7 inches of them if you play the strat that does this... you add a poxwalker to the unit
nothing prevents this from taking them above the max unit size
unit size is 10-20, but if a unit of 20 had the strat on them and a unit of 20 cultists got wiped out 7 inches away you now have a unit of 40 poxwalkers
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 15:59 UTC
Wow those are some solid FAQs right there
I guess GW has banned crack from at least the FAQ writers' room
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 16:00 UTC
I'm glad they answered my "Chanting Horrors" question
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 16:00 UTC
Now if only they could do the same in the rules writers' room we'd be golden
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 16:00 UTC
they didn't "fix" Virulent Blessing again though.
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 16:00 UTC
lol
gogo +1 wound FOREVER!!
i even emailed em about that (same time as the oblits and stuff having the wrong faction keywords... which did get answered)
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 16:04 UTC
yeah, me too.
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 16:04 UTC
nice that the auras still work across factions
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 16:07 UTC
Well, that was nice and easy. All done.
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 16:32 UTC
Feculent Gnarlmaw's giving +2 save to Oblits is still a thing then
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 16:34 UTC
yeah, its only stratagems that got changed (if you already played the keyword changes as RAI)
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 16:35 UTC
i would hope most people did
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 16:35 UTC
Primarch Season.jpg
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 16:35 UTC
tbh, i dont think most people noticed the error
James
@skonk
Jan 22 2018 16:36 UTC
you really dont like primarchs do you joe
well, chaos ones
you seem happy enough about the one that doubles the fire power of your army without being targetable by anything other that snipers :)
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 16:37 UTC
My Bobby G has been in the 'foam for months now
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Jan 22 2018 16:37 UTC
^which i’m proud of him for
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 16:37 UTC
And I had to fight a damned deep striking Mortarion over the weekend
It was, in fact, negative fun
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 16:38 UTC
he's fun in silly ott lists, but not in anything remotely competitive
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 17:15 UTC
So
Does ANYONE ON GOD'S GREEN EARTH have a source for Leman Russ Conqueror turrets?
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Jan 22 2018 17:16 UTC
rules?
theyre FW arent they?
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 17:17 UTC
They were, yes
But they OOP
they're
At this point I don't care if they're recast in some remote village using orphan tears as the release agent
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Jan 22 2018 17:40 UTC
18 powers is pretty nice. Although I imagine Glamour of Tzeentch will be the preference.
Sounds like Magnus can choose from all 3 disciplines but others get DH and the new one.
I'm also intrigued by the mention of automata...
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 17:42 UTC
That's Rubric Marines
Isn't it?
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Jan 22 2018 17:43 UTC
Possibly not
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 17:43 UTC
Oh, Dark Mechanicus? Maybe?
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Jan 22 2018 17:43 UTC
Because TSons had psi-castelax in the heresy
Maybe yes
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 17:47 UTC
I'll bet it's Rubrics
But it'd be cool if not
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Jan 22 2018 18:03 UTC
@CrusherJoe do what I did and just do some conversion work on a regular LRBT turret
converted two for a friend by shortening the barrel for the regular leman russ, and built up a stormbolter mount to the side so the barrel could be swapped for the vanquisher barrel
Joe Beddoe
@CrusherJoe
Jan 22 2018 20:48 UTC
I was thinking about converting a Demolisher cannon...or at least trying it
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Jan 22 2018 21:05 UTC
you could, the main reason I used the LRBT is that it also has the vanquisher cannon, so you can keep the cannon swap in place and use it as a conq or stygies vanq