These are chat archives for BSData/wh40k
still in den imperium campaign... Just got Renown 7 and unlocked GC's. I tried to resist the game and wait for a sale, so I'm a bit behind the curve :P
my hatred for eldar has reached new levels though. The satisfaction when you catch the buggers is unrivavled however... EAT MACRO CANNON SHELLS FUCKERS!
inrivavled. I hate 'em so much I produce typos :D
Yes, I know... Somehow the Eldar all tickle my hatred-bone just as chaos does. And in BFG2 they are the high dmg, cowardly, no-hp-glass cannon ships that always flitz off as soon as you even detect them. It just has a certain satisfaction to watch an Imperial Gothic-class cruiser circle the engine-destroyed space elf whale ship broadside on and punish the knife ear for meddling with humanity with shells the size of hab blocks...
I'll try not to take it to heart
Exceptions confirm the rule.
But in your pointy eared heart, you know it to be true :P
During deployment, you can set this unit up in ambush instead of on the battlefield. If this unit has the INFANTRY or BIKER keyword, you can either set it up in ambush or underground instead of on the battlefield.
When you set up a unit underground, it can emerge at the end of any of your Movement phases - set the unit up anywhere on the battlefield that is more than 9" from any enemy models.
When you set up a unit in ambush, place one ambush marker anywhere on the battlefield that is wholly within your deployment zone. You will need one ambush marker for each unit that will deploy in this way. If you set up a TRANSPORT in ambush, you must still tell your opponent what units are embarked within it when it is set up in ambush - do not set up separate ambush markers for units that start the battle embarked within a TRANSPORT, even if they have the Cult Ambush ability.
For ambush markers, see Codex: Genestealer Cults p76.
"* Speaking of blips…
A few of you have got in touch this week to ask how the Ambush marker deployment mechanic works in matched play games.
We just wanted to clear up that the intent is certainly that you can deploy your entire Genestealer Cults army using Ambush markers if you like – in any type of game. Any and all units that have the Cult Ambush special rule can take advantage of this, though you still can’t start with more than half your army underground. Not even the Genestealer Cults are that sneaky!
Deploying using Ambush marker is a very thematic, though fairly unusual, mechanic, and it does throw up the odd question on specific interactions with some other deployment rules. Don’t worry – these will be covered in a designer’s commentary in a few weeks. For now – enjoy the new codex!"