These are chat archives for BSData/wh40k

3rd
Feb 2019
Giuseppe Greco
@KurtAngle2_twitter
Feb 03 2019 00:17 UTC
8-9 days?
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 03 2019 00:18 UTC
likely sunday, depending on how much information we get before release
Giuseppe Greco
@KurtAngle2_twitter
Feb 03 2019 00:18 UTC
We got everything atm
from points to rules and profiles
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 03 2019 00:20 UTC
then it'll probably be sunday
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 03 2019 01:39 UTC
@KurtAngle2_twitter it's worth noting that we only work off actual codex pages, never leaks except on beta branches, because leaks are usually unverifiable
so if we have the full codex rules then it'll be soon, but not shorthands or leaks
been burned too many times to do it any other way
but GenW is fast, so as soon as the appropriate source is there, it should be out shortly after
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Feb 03 2019 03:35 UTC
We also don't release prior to official release.
Though, I guess it is out today :p
@Thairne
Manipulus is 90 points
hard stop
regardless of weapon choice.
I know GW also marked it as 5pts for a weapon no other model can use
But it's marked as 90 including wargear
so #4556 is valid.
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Feb 03 2019 10:14 UTC
but if cost including wargear is 90 and magnarail is 5 which he comes equipped with as per sheet, that means that if you do NOT use the magnarail and instead use the free sonic flamer that should be 85.. everything else is just plain illogical, why include pts otherwise?
so you're telling me I pay 5 points for the magna rail if I use it and don't get my 5 pts when I DONT use it?
what kind of communist propaganda is that?!
Giuseppe Greco
@KurtAngle2_twitter
Feb 03 2019 12:33 UTC
These are actual codex Pages
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Feb 03 2019 12:47 UTC
@KurtAngle2_twitter we as a rule do not release before the book itself is released.
So the absolute earliest you’ll see it will be Friday night 7pm EST.
Giuseppe Greco
@KurtAngle2_twitter
Feb 03 2019 13:09 UTC
Sure
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Feb 03 2019 13:18 UTC
@Thairne yep
Precedent is regardless of war gear cost if something is costed including war gear it doesn't matter what they have equipped.
Because if you use the Sonic flamer and pay only 85 you are now in violation of the data sheet that says 90 including war gear
Armond-Hammer
@Armond-Hammer
Feb 03 2019 16:17 UTC
@DrTobogganMD I dont know... I really think i agree with @Thairne Since the base line wargear is the Magnarail Lance and that cost 5pts his base cost should be 85pts with the flamer.
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 03 2019 16:19 UTC
we went through this with the FW characters, it doesn't actually matter what they have, the cost is always the listed
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 03 2019 16:20 UTC
yep. it's always 90, regardless of wargear
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Feb 03 2019 16:27 UTC
^this
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 03 2019 16:33 UTC
having a nice clear precedent is a welcome departure from the usual bullshit
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Feb 03 2019 17:05 UTC
Ayup. It doesnt' make sense why they put a cost on gear that only a single model uses, and that model has a fixed price
but that model has a fixed price, regardless of gear taken.
Armond-Hammer
@Armond-Hammer
Feb 03 2019 17:08 UTC
My bet is this Manipulus model will be FAQ'ed to a lower points cost
it seems really high with the recent drops from CA18
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Feb 03 2019 17:08 UTC
Then it'd be fixed at a lower cost
and still not change with wargear :p
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Feb 03 2019 19:33 UTC
I see the train of.. "logic" and I changed it earlier today... yet still, I just dont get WHY they'd do it that way... I... this ... why.. cannot... Access violation at address 00000000. Read of address 00000000
  • insert blue screen
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 03 2019 19:34 UTC
because his points cost includes his wargear
image.png
idk why they included the table of costs for wargear though
changing the topic, how much of Brood Brothers should I include?
because, again, it's a literal page of text
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 03 2019 19:36 UTC
I think @Thairne is having trouble parsing GW's thought process.
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 03 2019 19:36 UTC
ah, i see
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 03 2019 19:37 UTC
which is fair, because it's clearly bonkers.
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Feb 03 2019 19:37 UTC
yes, I do.
Only reasonable explanation - they fucked up.
probably mixed 2 versions they were toying with - excluding wargear and 5 pts or including and 0.
on the topic of brood brothers - quick parsedown or even nothing at all.
Including full rules is questionable from a copyright perspective, but most of the times useful as a quick ref data sheet. If the rule is that complex, use the codex and the actual, full length wording.
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 03 2019 19:42 UTC
i'm probably going to go with nothing at all, since i have no idea how to shorten this
image.png
oh, @alphalas and @CrusherJoe might want to have a read of that, so they can implement it in IG cats
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 03 2019 19:48 UTC
short version is:
  • no named characters
  • +1 Ld and Unquestioning Loyalty on all INFANTRY
  • No relics
  • No warlord
  • Half CP, rounding up (this is going to have to be at the GST level)
i would suggest moving the "Brood Brothers" regimental doctrine up to the GST, then linking that to each cat
Simon Porter
@FarseerVeraenthis
Feb 03 2019 20:07 UTC
The short version is RTFC - Read The Flipping Codex
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 03 2019 20:52 UTC
@GenWilhelm I'd include a shorthand like you just posted, with a note that for full rules details, consult your codex
Also you actually can't use elysians or Dkok as brood brothers anyway
because they don't have <regiment> or Tempestus to replace
so you quite literally can't use them
so all that's needed is to modify the brood brothers regiment in the AM cat
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 03 2019 20:55 UTC
idk about that, but i'm too deep in GSC atm to go look it up
oh wait, it's right there in the BB rule. you only need to be ASTRA MILITARUM
which DKK and elysians are
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 03 2019 20:57 UTC
but it also requires you to replace regiment and militarum
which dkok and elysians do not have
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 03 2019 20:57 UTC
so those dont get replaced
instead they just gain BROOD BROTHERS on top
the same as any non-regimental units
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 03 2019 20:58 UTC
true
up to @alphalas and @CrusherJoe then, since they maintain the guard cats
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Feb 03 2019 23:33 UTC
@GenWilhelm
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 03 2019 23:33 UTC
ey up
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Feb 03 2019 23:33 UTC
Add it as a rule entry in a no force org shared entry.
"Brood Brothers [Reference]"
Let people add it to view at their own desire.
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 03 2019 23:34 UTC
the whole thing?
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 03 2019 23:39 UTC
wait until you have a pdf or epub to save yourself the bullshit of typing it, then do what @DrTobogganMD
suggested
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 03 2019 23:40 UTC
cool :+1:
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Feb 03 2019 23:56 UTC
Yup whole thing. That was it's accurate but not intrusive unless the user wants it
Cult ambush too if that's too big normally