These are chat archives for BSData/wh40k

7th
Feb 2019
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 07 00:53
nope
haven't had enough time to really dig into the campaign
so I'm just wholesale saving it for later
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Feb 07 08:22
well you're gonna have a fun time with THAT thing, I tell ya :P
Simon Porter
@FarseerVeraenthis
Feb 07 08:51
It can't have been that bad, it only took you 22 minutes to beat it!
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Feb 07 09:09
I could spoil stuff, but i won't...
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Feb 07 09:25
the successful attempt took me 22 minutes :P And I was on my last 2 ships out of close to 4000 points :P Lets not talk about the 5 other attempts before...
for context: a battleship is about 400-500pts a pop.
Simon Porter
@FarseerVeraenthis
Feb 07 11:02
Sounds like a worthy challenge :smile:
The orginial battlefleet gothic has stopped loading on my PC, so I can't play at all :frowning:
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Feb 07 11:41

Elves are next, I expect the mission to be just as difficult.. maybe a craftworld interferes xD

BFG 2 is nice though, it takes many a clue from the first one and improves upon it

Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 07 20:37
if you use an end-of-phase stratagem to pile in/consolidate to within 1" of an enemy unit that has not fought this phase, does that unit get an opportunity to attack after the stratagem has been resolved?
does anyone happen to know if there's a ruling on this anywhere; GW, ITC, or any other event?
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 07 20:40
last I checked, they don't get to fight because end of phase has been reached
if it was "during" instead of "end" then it would be a fight back
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Feb 07 20:42
that's my understanding as well, but i've seen sensible people argue it the other way
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 07 20:43
the counter argument goes something like this: if its the end of the phase and someone fights without an exemption, its no longer end of phase and therefore the entire sequence is invalid
all things that allow fight actions at the end of the phase have explicit permission to do so written into them
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Feb 07 20:44
that rememinds me about some "end of psychic phase" discussions I had.
Was pretty much the same, but you do not reach end of phase until all valid units have fought.
If it is end of phase, everyone has fought.
you then can lock someone into combat, but you do not get to fight...
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 07 20:44
unless given very explicit ermission by the activating rule to do so
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Feb 07 20:44
that would be rolling back the turn to a done phase
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 07 20:44
not necessarily
explicit exemption creates an 'out of sequence event'
ex: old acts of faith, auspex scan, etc
fights by explicit permission at the end of the fight phase are similarly 'out of sequence events'
tekton
@tekton
Feb 07 20:49
So if there’s any pictures or things you want us to check out at LVO let us know...
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 07 20:52
Necromunda info beyond the seminar would be nice
since the seminar mentioned models for the brutes and specialists
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Feb 07 21:16
Anything FW/30k lol
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Feb 07 21:26
yeah, but as you said - you are explicitely allowed to do that. Otherwise, you reach end of phase when all fighting is done. If not all fighting done, not end of phase. When end of phase, no more fighting :P
oh I see, my last comment was just a new message and not in reply to yours
tekton
@tekton
Feb 07 21:29
30 what now?!
tekton
@tekton
Feb 07 22:44
@alphalas i'm hoping there's a book or two i can check out that are hopefully closer to print than not for that side of things...
@WindstormSCR will do
talking to one of the guys setting up earlier: there's a chance we can get better pictures/access to things on sunday
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Feb 07 23:34
neat
I'm particularly interested in anything van saar
so cyberachnid, Arachni-rig, other weapon options or details of that second wave plastic set