These are chat archives for BSData/wh40k

4th
Mar 2019
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Mar 04 08:07
Good. Good.
I will try that next game instead of skitarii chaff. That LR Punisher will be way less scary..
and with 6D6 Flamer overwatch (roll 2, discard lowest for hits) I dont think Harlies want to charge these either

oh and Shadowspear leaks for those that didnt see it yet, since its old news:
http://natfka.blogspot.com/2019/03/shadowspear-datasheets-leaked.html

interesting is the infiltrator squad that auto wounds and not as usual causes mortal wounds...

Simon Porter
@FarseerVeraenthis
Mar 04 09:49
That also means that if someone has managed to get to - 4 to hit -you can still hit them even though that should require a 7+...
Although I, don't see anything about targeting characters
So the very initial rumour was not accurate
They should be good, but notice that the stand alone codex will have 0 "normal" marines in it, so, they're on their way out in the long term
Dirk Bachert
@Thairne
Mar 04 10:14
or on the way in.
I presume the mini dex is just so they dont have to update all the other codexes. Next iteration will very likely include them tho
Amadeusz Sadowski
@amis92
Mar 04 10:30

@WindstormSCR @flakpanda Re new SM - in new or existing cat

Let's keep in mind our guidelines. https://github.com/BSData/wh40k/wiki/Guidelines#14

It's not a new Faction really, sooo yeah.

flakpanda
@flakpanda
Mar 04 12:35
@WindstormSCR @amis92 rolled into current cat for sure. It’s the same style release with initial primaris release
All set war gear and model counts in units
Until a book came out
That updated the datasheets
All the other adeptus astartes book that can take them will have to update in line as well
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Mar 04 13:41
@FarseerVeraenthis the character targeting is top line, regardless of ammo used
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Mar 04 13:44
Oh stupid question
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 04 13:44
Apple.
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Mar 04 13:45
Are custom characters supposed to activate in narrative or open?
BA is half and half
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Mar 04 13:45
open only I think
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 04 13:45
Battle Honors is both, CC is Open only I think
One is both, one is only one - I'll check, h/o
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Mar 04 13:46
yeah, custom characters is open
battle honours is narrative
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 04 13:46
Yea, that.
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Mar 04 13:46
actually, CC is both. See the Designer's Note on p21
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Mar 04 13:47
Kk so all cats probably need gone through
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Mar 04 13:48
why? It's all in the GST isn't it?
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 04 13:48
shouldnt be.
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Mar 04 13:48
If you and your opponent want to create even more bespoke characters for use in your campaigns, consider using the Custom Characters open play rules presented on pages 14-17
this one?
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Mar 04 13:48
yeah
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Mar 04 13:48
telling you to go play open play?
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 04 13:48
? That's just saying use the CC open play rules in narrative.
for CC.
So BA is Narrative, CC is both.
ALso - as for going through - the logic for hiding/showing is in GST @alphalas
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Mar 04 13:49
Ah kk
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Mar 04 13:49
to me that says if these rules arent enough, open play gives you more freedom
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 04 13:49
You just have to add the relevent entries to correct character/vehicle/etc in the cats (which I think we've already done)
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Mar 04 13:49
@DrTobogganMD kk
I think I was conflating BH and CC in my addled state when we were playing the game where it came up
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 04 13:50
Huh, yea I don't get that vibe. I take that is, this is narrative. If you want to add even more fluff, consider using these rules as an add-on
Jon Kissinger
@alphalas
Mar 04 13:50
But yeah @GenWilhelm I read that as saying you can use CC in narrative play too
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 04 13:50
Yea, they're different, but similar.
CC don't generate over the course of a narrative, BH does as your units kill things.
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Mar 04 17:07
@alphalas @DrTobogganMD I'm not at home, can someone make a bugrep regarding CC/BH and I'll fix then GST when I get home?
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 04 17:08
Isn't it as it should be?
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Mar 04 17:14
its ambiguous, I'm going to tinker with a switch to allow it to work in narrative
shouldn't be hard
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 04 18:04
Done
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Mar 04 18:21
does anyone know where the option for two power swords on an exalted sorcerer comes from?
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Mar 04 18:27
okay i found it. it was added in the Thousand Sons FAQ 1.0, but then removed in 1.2
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 04 18:29
huh, that's sneaky
removing the option in an FAQ? there's not even a note that it was there
Will Pattison
@GenWilhelm
Mar 04 18:49
yeah, idk if it was intentionally removed or not
Iain Launchbury
@Mad-Spy
Mar 04 20:23
welp, I should probably fix that then?
Earl Bishop
@DrTobogganMD
Mar 04 20:31
Unless we can find someone else that lets them take two I guess.
Kinda annoying that it was called out that it was removed.
Now we'll need to start keeping old FAQ versions for comparisons
*wasn't called out
Simon Porter
@FarseerVeraenthis
Mar 04 21:54
@WindstormSCR - I appear to have got my Infiltrators mixed up with my Eliminators...
those Mortis rounds are pretty nasty - they cannot miss an unmodified shot...?? Or is a natural roll of a 1 always a miss??
I hate being full of snot, my brain is fluffy, I'm going to bed :+1:
WindstormSCR
@WindstormSCR
Mar 04 22:00
natural roll of a 1 is always a miss per BRB