These are chat archives for CodeHubOrg/discussions

15th
Mar 2017
Tim Handy
@TimHandy
Mar 15 2017 14:52
help :-( Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong here please? I'm attempting to export this file and import it to this test file and then when I run my tests it complains that model.shuffle is not defined.
have I got a typo somewhere or am I doing it all wrong?
Jack Leigh
@leighman
Mar 15 2017 15:04
@TimHandy Babel 5 or 6?
Paul
@paulfourniercarey
Mar 15 2017 15:04
Hello all.
I am new to code hub and hoping to come along to the javascript 101 meetup on the 21st.
I seem to have got the local js101 site up and running from github, it looks very basic css-wise, that right?
Jack Leigh
@leighman
Mar 15 2017 15:06

@TimHandy I think you want:

export default {foo: "blah"}

and

import model from "./model.js"
Been a while since I used import style
Or
import {shuffle} from "./model.js"
Tim Handy
@TimHandy
Mar 15 2017 15:34
So export default {}' andimport model from './model.js'` worked, though I still am none the wiser as to how these things work... it seems every time I do it I have to do it a different way to get it to work... Grrr. Thanks Jack.
@paulfourniercarey Hi Paul. that page went up just last week as a holding page. I think it's a bit of an inside joke...very 90's styling. I don't believe anyone has had time to work on it yet. I'm sure you'll be very welcome at the meetup :-)
Jack Leigh
@leighman
Mar 15 2017 15:40
@TimHandy Almost always modules will export an object of functions which you can import as one thing or pick bits of as per the two above examples
the * syntax is for in the rare case where the module exports separate functions and you want to group them into an object in your own code
the export default model = {} would probably still work (although the name model there only means anything within the file), I think it's the import where you had it wrong
Tim Handy
@TimHandy
Mar 15 2017 15:42