Where communities thrive


  • Join over 1.5M+ people
  • Join over 100K+ communities
  • Free without limits
  • Create your own community
People
Repo info
Activity
  • May 22 22:29
    Server build 3508 deployed
  • May 22 22:20
    Client build 5296 deployed
  • May 22 03:47
    Server build 3507 deployed
  • May 21 23:46
    pkaminski commented #793
  • May 21 23:09
    Server build 3506 deployed
  • May 20 18:56
    Client build 5291 deployed
  • May 20 04:21
    Server build 3505 deployed
  • May 19 08:04
    steinemann commented #519
  • May 19 07:33
    Server build 3504 deployed
  • May 19 06:19
    Server build 3503 deployed
  • May 18 19:30
    Client build 5271 deployed
  • May 18 05:05
    pkaminski commented #866
  • May 17 21:01
    Server build 3502 deployed
  • May 17 20:47
    Client build 5270 deployed
  • May 16 20:22
    schreter commented #866
  • May 16 19:44
    pkaminski commented #866
  • May 16 19:40
    pkaminski commented #633
  • May 16 02:44
    pkaminski closed #495
  • May 16 02:44
    pkaminski commented #495
  • May 14 18:59
    Server build 3500 deployed
Dan Halperin
@dhalperi
ugh
if I manually select full diff it breaks
Piotr Kaminski
@pkaminski
OK, at least you're unblocked while I go about fixing it.
Dan Halperin
@dhalperi
:+1:
Piotr Kaminski
@pkaminski
Yeah, hiding files is too aggressive after this change -- trying to find a new balance.
Piotr Kaminski
@pkaminski
OK, I pushed a fix: file hiding based on review status is now only on for reviewers, and if all files are hidden there's a new obvious button to help show them all.
Dan Halperin
@dhalperi
confirmed new obvious button on reload and it works
Piotr Kaminski
@pkaminski
Weird, if you're not a reviewer on this PR then it shouldn't be hiding the files at all.
Dan Halperin
@dhalperi
(I did mark some as reviewed after you unblocked me)
Dan Halperin
@dhalperi
Is there a way to deep link to Support announcements? They don't appear to be in the blog. (Aka, if i want to share a link on Slack)
Piotr Kaminski
@pkaminski
You mean from https://headwayapp.co/reviewable-changelog? You can click on a timestamp to get a link to a specific entry.
7 replies
Dan Halperin
@dhalperi
Screen Shot 2022-04-06 at 9.46.47 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-04-06 at 9.46.51 PM.png
Unless I'm missing it, there's no (entry-specific) direct link in either of those places
Screen Shot 2022-04-06 at 9.49.34 PM.png
As in, wasn't obvious it me that the red bubble took me there.
Piotr Kaminski
@pkaminski
I tried being clever with the red bubble, moving it to the Changelog entry when you dropped down the menu, but it was extremely fragile so I had to give it up. I agree it's not ideal, but given that this way I can offload the entire changelog management, editor, etc. to a third party, I still think it's a net win.
Dan Halperin
@dhalperi
yeah, makes sense.
Michał Kowalczyk
@mkow
I see you already discussed the new hiding of the files above, but what was the rationale behind this change? Now if I manually select the full diff range (base vs newest) I don't get any diffs shown except the commit message. If I manually selected the full diff range, then my intention was to see the full diff ;)
Piotr Kaminski
@pkaminski
Yeah, this needs further work, sorry. Will tweak it today.
Piotr Kaminski
@pkaminski
All right, took a bit longer than I expected but should be fixed. The update logic is 1) if any files in the diff range need reviewing, show only those, but 2) if no files need reviewing, show all of them. (You'll still get the "nothing to diff" message if all diffs are empty.)
Michał Kowalczyk
@mkow
ok, makes more sense, thanks! will see how the new version works in practice :)
Belden Lyman
@belden
I inadvertently renamed our repo, and then I renamed it back. Now old reviews aren't accessible.
20 replies
aselus
@aselus:matrix.org
[m]
hey guys, at a new company again and was trying to get reviewable adopted but hit a wall with the security team. Was wondering if reviewable has any security certs or security documentation?
2 replies
aselus
@aselus:matrix.org
[m]
@pkaminski: thanks, are you guys planning on doing SoC2 at any time in the future? (because I know I will get asked.) I'll check with my security team on the info you passed on though! hopefully can get it resolved w/ the onprem solution
3 replies
Stephen Holsapple
@sholsapp

Hi team, first post here.

I’m trying to enable more and more Github’s branch protections so we have enforcement of some of our policies around code review. I’m having trouble with the Github branch protection described as, “Require conversation resolution before merging”.

For folks using Github's review system, this works fine. However, for folks using Reivewable's review system, it doesn't appear that discussions/comment disposition makes its way into Github's system of record (what I'm calling the place where Github squirrels away all the data under the hood like review status, open discussions).

I think I see what is going on: Reviewable is sync'ing discussions sourced from Reviewable's UI into Github as general comments, as opposed to review comments. The distinction is a general comment does not need acknowledge/resolution from anywhere.

In Github's UI, you create these general comments by navigating to the bottom of a PR and punching in some text to input form there, and push the green "comment" button. In Github's UI, you create a review comment by first navigating to "Start a Review", and then leaving a comment this way.

Has anyone else experienced this and has a solution that would cause Reviewable sourced discussions to show up as Github review comments instead of general comments? I think if you could do this, Github's branch protections would work fine.

2 replies
Dan Halperin
@dhalperi

Reviewable seems like it's taking a LOOOONG time to load a PR. The network seems fine. Is there any good flags to set to debug?

Wondering if it's related to codecov integration that we recently turned on. Is loading that integration blocking the diff loading?

21 replies
Dan Halperin
@dhalperi
Screen Shot 2022-04-25 at 4.13.15 PM.png
Dan Halperin
@dhalperi
Screen Shot 2022-04-25 at 4.23.18 PM.png
Michał Kowalczyk
@mkow
feature idea: what do you think about changing how the "Mark reviewed and go to next file" button works? the problem I have with it is that it goes to the next file with some changes, but jumps over discussions with new comments
optimally I'd like it to jump to the next item which has new contents since the last review
if you like the idea I can file an issue for further discussion ;)
Piotr Kaminski
@pkaminski
So basically a combination of x and .? Dunno, not sure that would fit more people's workflows than the current approach. You can fake it with a compound keyboard shortcut if you want, though, just bind to toggleCurrentFileReviewed(true); nextChangedFileOrUnrepliedDiscussion().
Michał Kowalczyk
@mkow
the problem with using this button is that you sometimes need to manually go back to reply to some discussions
and it's IMO unintuitive that it actually skips some of the updates
so, as the effect, I often resort back to just page up/down
Piotr Kaminski
@pkaminski
Personally, I think pgup/pgdn is a more natural UI anyway, since we do our best not to show anything irrelevant on the page. The "mark and next file" button is more for when you get stuck in single-file mode, in which case skipping over a file isn't as big a deal and you just do a sweep for any remaining discussions at the end.
I dunno, I think it we went all-in on the "next item" style navigation it would make sense, but given that right now we emphasize cycling files vs discussions separately it's reasonable to keep this button file-specific. That said, should you open an issue it would allow other people to chime in and give me an opportunity to change my mind. :)
Michał Kowalczyk
@mkow
tbh I'm not against the pgup/pgdn navigation in principle, but the problem with it is that it doesn't focus on anything, so I need more mouse moving and clicking to do anything
anyways, this isn't a big issue for me
just a small cumbersomeness, i.e. no perfect way to read everything I want without scrolling through things which didn't change ;)
Michał Kowalczyk
@mkow
@pkaminski can I quote you in the issue? especially that "I think it we went all-in on the "next item" style navigation it would make sense, but given that right now we emphasize cycling files vs discussions separately it's reasonable to keep this button file-specific.", which sounds like a good argument against this change
I'll create the issue as I'm curious what other people will say :)
Piotr Kaminski
@pkaminski
Of course -- thanks!
Michał Kowalczyk
@mkow
I actually wonder how many different flows do people have to go through the reviews
Arran Schlosberg
@arran-fathom
I'm so glad I found Reviewable, thank you! The custom syntax highlighting is giving me some trouble though, is it ok to just use a GitHub raw content link https://raw.githubusercontent.com/highlightjs/highlight.js/main/src/styles/monokai.css?
Piotr Kaminski
@pkaminski
Thanks @arran-fathom! You can't use a raw content link directly because it doesn't serve with the correct content type, but all you need to do is go to https://raw.githack.com/ and paste in the raw link to get a usable one.
Arran Schlosberg
@arran-fathom
That @pkaminski :)
Arran Schlosberg
@arran-fathom
*Thanks