These are chat archives for dry-rb/chat

28th
Jun 2016
Janko Marohnić
@janko-m
Jun 28 2016 06:29
I'm trying to make Shrine easy to use with dry-transaction and dry-validation, but I'm pretty new to the dry-rb world.
Tim Riley
@timriley
Jun 28 2016 06:30
Cool! Do you have any questions atm?
Janko Marohnić
@janko-m
Jun 28 2016 06:31
When you're using dry-validation for validating fields of an existing record, do you somehow first sync the attributes from that record
Tim Riley
@timriley
Jun 28 2016 06:31
That’ll depend on how you want to use it from your app.
I usually have a validation schema per-form.
And when it’s an “edit” form, it’ll mean that the pre-existing data (that I care about for that form) should be present.
No “sync” though. Just that the pre-existing data has been fetched in order to render the form, and then when that form is posted, that’s when the data will be sent through, and the dry-v schema will see it.
Janko Marohnić
@janko-m
Jun 28 2016 06:33
Aha, I see, makes sense. Sorry, I have a lot of questions, but trying to organize them in my head.
Tim Riley
@timriley
Jun 28 2016 06:33
np
Janko Marohnić
@janko-m
Jun 28 2016 06:35
So, I'm assuming that in dry-rb you're declaring entities by inheriting from Dry::Types::Struct, correct? Is the construct of attr_accessors like user.name = part of dry-rb? Because It seems that dry-types doesn't provide these accessors
Tim Riley
@timriley
Jun 28 2016 06:36
That’s kinda the opposite of how you’d work with these gems.
Firstly, you don’t actually have to make your own entity classes
if you’re working with e.g. rom via rom-repository, you’ll get plain structs back by default
and if that’s enough for your app, then that’s fine
of course, you can define your own entity classes and have them used for return results from your repos
but the pattern we recommend is that you do not mutate those objects
and rom-rb supports this by separating queries from commands