These are chat archives for frictionlessdata/chat

30th
Dec 2017
Rufus Pollock
@rufuspollock
Dec 30 2017 10:31

@roll @vitorbaptista do we have a common repo(s) where we have sample data files e.g. sample csv, sample data packages etc?

If not what do you think of maintaining one? It would be super useful for the community to have a common set of test data.

Stephen Gates
@Stephen-Gates
Dec 30 2017 10:32
^^ agreed current example repos are out of date e.g. https://github.com/frictionlessdata/example-data-packages
Rufus Pollock
@rufuspollock
Dec 30 2017 10:43
@Stephen-Gates :thumbsup:
@Stephen-Gates do you know of any other example datasets or files?
I also started making one for Data Curator testing but it’s a bit of a mess at present https://github.com/Stephen-Gates/data-package-examples
Rufus Pollock
@rufuspollock
Dec 30 2017 10:50

Thinking about requirement for example data packages:

1. As a Tutorial writer I want a set of data files and data packages I can use in my tutorials so that i can embed them and point users to them to play with them themselves
  2. As a Developer writing a library I want to have a set of standard test data files and data packages as a reference for my implementation tests
  3. As a new Publisher of data packages i want to see examples that i can copy and use so that I can move quickly and understand what is involved
  4. As a Consumer of data packages I want to see some examples for use

My sense is that the "exemplar" and "test" use cases are somewhat different. 1+3+4 are exemplar and want "nice' data packages". 2 (+1) are more test and are about testing the real range of sitautions and being super simple for testing.

My sense is that the key here to focus on is the test (lib developer) case to start with.

They probably want versioning and ability to git submodule so they can pin the data they are developing against (e.g. if data package spec gets upgraded they can still keep old spec versions if they need them).

wdyt?